Platform review
Ethos
An expert network running AI training campaigns at $50 to $150 an hour, with no guaranteed volume.
Ethos fits senior professionals who want to see a rate before they apply and can treat the work as occasional income rather than a paycheck. Every listing carries an hourly figure to the dollar, and the top of the board pays $150/hour for consulting and FP&A work, which is far above what conventional annotation platforms pay. The catch is written into the contract: Section 1.4 of the Expert Terms disclaims any warranty on the frequency, quantity, type, or availability of projects, so the advertised “up to $3k/week” is arithmetic on a 20-hour ceiling, not an offer. Getting in means a recorded AI voice interview and, per workers, a qualification screener with a pass mark, none of which is paid by default. If you need predictable weekly hours, this is the wrong platform.
Key facts about Ethos
- Pay
- $50–$150/hr advertised, per campaign
- Application
- Interview / vetted
- Availability
- Not published by the platform
- Specialties
Read this first
The things that change how you should read everything else on this page.
- Ethos is an expert network that runs AI training campaigns, not a data annotation platform. Comparing it against DataAnnotation or Alignerr compares two business models, and the advisory-call and consulting streams advertised on its homepage are a different product from the AI training campaigns currently filling its expert board.
- The earnings figures on the Ethos homepage ($500/hr, $8,400 earned this quarter, advisory calls shown at $400-$600) are illustrative product mockups inside dashboard screenshots. They are not reported earnings and must never be quoted as such.
- The advertised weekly figures are ceilings. “$150/hr, up to $3k/week” describes 20 hours at $150, not an offer of 20 hours, and Section 1.4 of the Expert Terms disclaims any warranty on how much work exists.
- Trustpilot's 102 reviews are a thin base with a barbell distribution and heavy selection bias in both directions: people write when they are locked out and angry, and platforms in this category solicit reviews from workers who are currently earning. Do not generalize from either half.
- A September 9, 2026 Trustpilot reviewer says they were recruited as a risk and regulatory consultant at $80/hr, then found only generic AI content and PowerPoint grading, and says Ethos told them all experts draw from one shared queue. That is a single reviewer reporting what they were told, and the live listings describe domain-specific task types rather than one undifferentiated queue.
- The $35-$225/hr range and $80/hr median circulating on competing review sites come from those sites' own listing tracking, not from Ethos or from workers, and their method is not published. The advertised rates confirmed directly on Ethos listings ($50/hr to $150/hr across campaigns) sit inside that range, so our own sample should not be presented as a narrower ceiling either.
- The founder earnings figures on annotation.academy (35,000 new experts a week, $20 million paid to experts, average extra earnings around GBP 4,500 a month) are described by that page itself as community-quoted from Reddit and not verified against a company statement. They do not belong on our pages.
- Where Ethos will pay you is at its discretion. The Expert Terms say Ethos determines the jurisdictions and currencies it supports in its sole discretion and may deny participation based on location, and no list of eligible countries is published anywhere on the site.
- Reviewer names and a named Ethos support staffer appear throughout the Trustpilot material. Summarize the pattern; do not reproduce review text or put an individual's name on the published page.
What the work is
Ethos presents itself as an expert network rather than a conventional annotation vendor, and its own in-house job postings describe the product as a research and sourcing platform used by investors, consultants, and enterprises to find and engage experts. Its expert-facing site offers three streams: paid consulting projects, 30 to 60 minute advisory calls with investors and research firms, and market research surveys. In practice, a large share of the work currently on its expert board is AI training for a client the company calls a leading foundational AI lab, spread across several distinct campaigns covering customer service workflows, software engineering, B2B sales, FP&A, management consulting, and presentation and slide-deck production. TechCrunch reported in May 2026, citing the company, that Ethos raised a $22.75M Series A led by a16z, was founded by James Lo (ex-McKinsey, ex-SoftBank) and Daniel Mankowitz (ex-DeepMind), and takes 30% or more as a per-project fee from client businesses.
Who they want
Ethos wants mid-career and senior practitioners with a recognizable employer on the resume, and its listings say so in the requirements rather than in generalities. The bar runs from 4+ years in market research or consumer insights, to a PharmD, MD, or PhD plus 4+ years in medical affairs, to Engagement Manager or above at McKinsey, Bain, or BCG for the $150/hour consulting campaign, to Senior FP&A Manager or Director at a large corporate for the $150/hour finance campaign. Its client-facing page says the network runs to more than 150,000 professionals, that every expert is AI-screened, and that the network skews CXO-level; those are company claims about signups, not about people doing paid work. On eligibility by country, the Expert Terms are the clearest statement available and they commit to nothing: Ethos decides the jurisdictions and currencies it supports in its sole discretion and may deny participation based on location, and it publishes no list.
Step 1
Apply to a listing
Name, email, a LinkedIn URL Ethos validates, and a CV or resume as a PDF upload.
Step 2
AI voice screen
Tagged on every listing. Ethos records the audio and evaluates the transcript.
Step 3
Matched or selected
Ethos's own account stops here; reviewers describe an email carrying a deadline.
Step 4
Qualification screener
Reviewers report an 80% pass mark; the Expert Terms pay for no preparation time.
Step 5
Onboarding, then KYC
Reviewers describe a webinar, the Feather task platform, Slack, then bank details.
How you get in
You apply to a specific listing or sign up at agent.askethos.com/agent. The listing application form asks for first name, last name, email, a LinkedIn profile URL with a Check button that validates it, and a CV or resume as a PDF upload. The application page itself says only that the team will review your application and get back to you; every listing separately carries an “AI voice screen included” tag under its Interview section. That voice screen is a real interview with real data handling behind it: Ethos's privacy policy says it records your microphone audio for the length of the call, creates a written transcript, and uses AI tools to generate summaries and evaluations from it. From there the company's own account stops, and the rest comes from Trustpilot reviewers rather than from Ethos. They describe an email saying you have been matched or selected, usually with a deadline; a qualification screener with a stated 80% pass mark, which one August 18, 2026 reviewer says had to be completed inside a one-hour window; an onboarding webinar; provisioning on a task platform called Feather that authenticates through a Microsoft account; a Slack workspace; and KYC plus bank details before any money moves. Section 1.7 of the Expert Terms says Ethos will not compensate preparation, research, or other time ancillary to a project “unless expressly approved by Ethos in writing in advance,” so the default across those steps is unpaid.
How it pays
Not enough priced listings to plot. Only 3 of 3 open roles on Ethos's board publish an hourly rate, which is an anecdote rather than a distribution. Below 5 listings we do not draw a shape or a median.
Rates vary by campaign and are published on each listing. The five listings read in detail on September 12, 2026 advertised $70/hour (market research and consumer insights, FP&A slide decks, presentation design), each headlined “up to $1.4k/week,” and $100/hour (medical affairs, senior account executive), headlined “up to $2k/week.” Across the wider board, confirmed advertised rates run from $50/hour for senior customer service up to $150/hour for management consulting and senior FP&A, with weekly headline figures scaling to $3k at 20 hours. The Expert Terms describe the underlying arrangement differently from the listings: compensation is agreed per project at the time of engagement, paid on a cycle confirmed in writing before the project starts (weekly, monthly, or at completion), with invoices due within three days of completion. The relationship is independent contractor, you owe your own taxes, payment runs through third-party processors and requires bank details, and Ethos publishes no figure for what an average expert actually earns.
What workers say
The public record on Ethos
Trustpilot is the only aggregate worker rating that exists for Ethos, and at 102 reviews it is a thin base for a company claiming a six-figure network. The distribution is a barbell: 66% five-star, 26% one-star, and almost nothing in between, which usually means two different experiences rather than one mixed one. The more important thing about the score is what it measures. Roughly half the reviews describe applying, interviewing, or getting stuck in onboarding rather than doing paid work, and the one-star cluster is concentrated almost entirely on recruiting and platform access rather than on the job itself, so a reader should treat the 3.7 as a rating of Ethos's hiring funnel at least as much as a rating of the work. Trustpilot's own page flags that the company has no recent history of asking for reviews and has not replied to negative ones, and two reviewers allege the five-star reviews are manufactured.
Scores, and what each one measures
- Trustpilot ↗3.7 out of 5
What it measures. Mostly the recruiting funnel, not the job. About half the reviews describe applying, the AI voice interview, the qualification screener, or being unable to log into the Feather task platform after acceptance; the one-star share is dominated by access and onboarding failures rather than complaints about the work or the pay. Trustpilot notes the company has no recent history of asking for reviews and has not replied to negative ones, and the profile was claimed in August 2026.
Our read of it
Pros
- Every listing carries an hourly rate to the dollar before you apply, which is more than most platforms in this category publish at all.
- The top of the board pays well above annotation-platform norms: $150/hour for the management consulting and senior FP&A campaigns, $110/hour for sales, $100/hour for software engineering and medical affairs.
- The work is matched to professional background rather than pooled as generic labor, with campaign-specific task types like variance analysis and board reporting for FP&A, or market sizing and due diligence for consulting.
- Payment reliability is the single most repeated theme in the five-star Trustpilot reviews from August 2026, with several reviewers describing prompt payment and one describing payment arriving immediately on request.
- The Expert Terms make participation voluntary and give you the right to accept or decline any project at your discretion, which matches reviewers who describe working the hours they want, fully remote, with no minimum.
- Several August 2026 reviewers describe the tasks as intellectually demanding and relevant to their field rather than menial, including one who says the work kept their analytic skills sharp.
Cons
- The contract guarantees no work. Section 1.4 of the Expert Terms says Ethos makes “no representations or warranties regarding the frequency, quantity, type, or availability” of projects, so every advertised weekly figure is a ceiling on 20 hours, not a commitment to offer them.
- Being accepted and then locked out is the most consistent complaint in recent reviews. Trustpilot reviewers on September 3 and September 4, 2026 say they were selected and then could not get past the Microsoft login for the Feather task platform; an August 27, 2026 reviewer says they spent three weeks escalating and missed two campaigns.
- Support is described by the reviewers who hit problems as slow and circular: a 24 to 48 hour response window, chatbot loops, instructions pointing to Slack channels they had no access to, and escalate-to-human options they could not find.
- Screening is unpaid by default and runs on a clock. Reviewers describe short match deadlines, an 80% pass mark, and a one-hour completion window, and Section 1.7 makes ancillary time unpaid unless Ethos approves an exception in writing in advance.
- What you say in the voice screen does not stay yours. The privacy policy has Ethos recording and transcribing the call and generating AI evaluations from it; Section 13 of the Expert Terms makes project recordings and transcripts client Deliverables, Section 14.1 gives the client ownership of work product, and Section 14.5 gives Ethos a perpetual license over Expert Data for training and improving AI tools. Three reviewers between late June and mid-July 2026 say they completed interviews or repeated interview rounds and got nothing.
- Payment plumbing has changed mid-stream. A September 9, 2026 reviewer says Ethos emailed asking urgently for bank details and KYC because it was switching payment provider to Wise, that the portal errored and would not save the details, and that $240 was still showing as due.
Who it fits, and who should skip it
Best for
- Senior professionals with a named-firm background who want a published rate before applying
- Consultants, FP&A leads, and domain specialists who can charge $100 to $150 an hour
- People wanting occasional supplementary income rather than steady hours
- Anyone comfortable with a recorded, AI-evaluated voice interview
Who should skip it
Skip Ethos if you need reliable weekly income, because the terms guarantee no volume and the most consistent recent complaint is being accepted and then unable to get into the task platform for weeks. Skip it if you object to an unpaid, recorded interview that the company transcribes and evaluates with AI, since that is a required step on every listing and the default is that ancillary time goes unpaid. And skip it if your resume is light on brand-name employers or senior titles, because the listings screen hard on both.
Provenance
Where all of this came from
Every source behind this review
What each one says, and how much weight it deserves.
The three expert streams (consulting projects, advisory calls, market research surveys), featured opportunity tiles with rates, and the dashboard mockups showing $500/hr, $8,400 this quarter, and $400-$600 advisory calls.
How to read it. Renders only after JavaScript; a plain fetch returns a bare loading shell. The dashboard figures are product mockups, not reported earnings.
“Matched from a network of 150,000+ professionals, plus external sourcing”, “Every expert is AI-screened”, “The network skews CXO-level across industries”, “Top 1% experts”. Four posting types: full-time, part-time, expert call, market research.
How to read it. Marketing copy aimed at buyers. Network size is a signup count, not a count of people doing paid work.
Section 1.4 disclaims any warranty on frequency, quantity, type, or availability of projects and gives the right to decline any project. Section 1.7 makes preparation, research, and ancillary time unpaid “unless expressly approved by Ethos in writing in advance.” Per-project rates agreed at engagement; payment cycle confirmed in writing before start; invoices within three days of completion; independent contractor status and expert-borne taxes; third-party processors and bank details; Ethos picks jurisdictions and currencies in its sole discretion. Section 13 lets clients record and transcribe, with those materials becoming Deliverables. Section 14.1 gives the client ownership of work product. Section 14.5 gives Ethos a perpetual license over Expert Data for developing, training, and improving AI tools.
How to read it. This is the contract, not a description of practice. It sets floors and discretions, not what actually happens.
“we record your microphone audio for the duration of the call and create a written transcript”, with AI tools generating summaries, follow-up questions, and evaluations. Customer Content is not used to train Ethos models without the data controller's explicit authorization, but services data, publicly available data, and aggregated data may be. Profile details are shared with an organization when you express interest. Profiles hard-deleted within 30 days of account deletion; voice recordings queued for deletion; facial geometry destroyed within three years of last interaction.
How to read it. Describes Ethos's own handling. Client-side recording and ownership are governed by the Expert Terms instead.
$150/hour, up to $3,000/week, up to 20 hrs/week. Requires Engagement Manager or above at McKinsey, Bain, or BCG. AI training work on consulting workflows: market sizing, due diligence, strategic analysis, client presentations. Carries the “About Ethos” blurb: “a new expert network built by a McKinsey/SoftBank/DeepMind team and backed by world-leading investors like General Catalyst.”
How to read it. Top of the published rate band. A listed rate is an advertised rate, not evidence anyone was paid it.
$150/hour, up to $3,000/week, 5-20 hrs/week. Senior FP&A Manager or Director at a large corporate. AI training on variance analysis, board reporting, forecasting, and business partnering memos.
How to read it. A second, separate FP&A listing exists at $70/hour on the slide-deck campaign. Same profession, two campaigns, two rates.
$50/hour, up to $1,000/week, up to 20 hrs/week. 5+ years in high-volume customer service at top companies. AI training on complaint resolution, escalation documentation, refund and policy cases.
How to read it. Bottom of the published rate band.
$70/hour, up to $1.4k/week, 5-20 hrs/week, fully remote. 4+ years in market research or consumer insights. AI training on research readout decks, segmentation presentations, and tracker reports. “AI voice screen included” appears under the Interview section.
How to read it. One of the five presentation-campaign listings; not representative of the board's full rate range.
Fields are first name, last name, email, LinkedIn profile URL with a Check button, CV/resume PDF upload, Submit Application. The page text says only that the team will review your application and get back to you.
How to read it. The form renders only with JavaScript. Nothing on this page mentions the voice screen; that tag sits on the listings.
$22.75M Series A led by a16z with General Catalyst, XTX Markets, Evantic Capital, and Common Magic. Founders James Lo (McKinsey, SoftBank) and Daniel Mankowitz (ex-DeepMind). Ethos takes 30% or more as a per-project fee from businesses. Clients described as hedge funds, private equity firms, foundational AI labs, and enterprise consulting, none named.
How to read it. TechCrunch relays company statements throughout, including the take rate, the roughly 35,000-joins-per-week figure, and the client categories. Treat all of it as the company's account.
3.7 out of 5 across 102 reviews. Feather platform lockouts (Sept 3 and Sept 4, 2026), the shared-queue account and Wise migration with $240 outstanding (Sept 9, 2026), three weeks of unresolved provisioning (Aug 27, 2026), the 80% screener with a one-hour window (Aug 18, 2026), and August 2026 five-star reports of prompt payment and named support staff.
How to read it. Thin sample, barbell distribution, and roughly half the reviews describe the application funnel rather than the work. Trustpilot flags no recent review solicitation and no replies to negative reviews.
August 12-13, 2026 five-star reports of competitive pay, prompt payment, remote flexibility, and task variety; the complaint about training for one project then receiving another's tasks (Aug 12, 2026); reviewers on Jun 28, Jul 13, and Jul 15, 2026 alleging AI interviews extract expertise with no work following; and allegations of manufactured positive reviews (Jul 26 and Aug 11, 2026).
How to read it. A dense cluster of five-star reviews on August 12-13, 2026 is the pattern two negative reviewers point to as evidence of solicitation. Unresolvable either way.
Prints $35-$225/hr with a median of $80/hr, sourced to its own tracking of active Ethos listings.
How to read it. Method not published and not verified. The confirmed $50-$150 band sits inside this range, so it is not obviously wrong, but it should not be cited as fact.
Reports figures attributed to Ethos's founder in r/askethos posts: 35,000 new experts a week, $20 million paid to experts this year, average extra earnings around GBP 4,500 a month, top 10% at GBP 7,000 or more.
How to read it. The page describes these as community-quoted and not verified against a primary company statement. Not usable as fact.
Evidence scorecard
What we can back up about Ethos
14
0
Not one of them is work we've done ourselves. Read every line below as what somebody else states, discounted by its tier.
- Tier 1 · Verified first-hand0 accounts
We did it ourselves and can describe it, with a date. No dated first-hand account of Ethos's own process is on record here.
- Tier 2 · Platform-published9 statements
Stated on the platform's own site, board, or in writing to us. Read off Ethos's own pages, and cited to them.
- Tier 3 · Worker reports0 reports
Said by people who say they've done the work. We hold none for Ethos.
- Tier 4 · Unverified claim5 claims
Printed by a marketing or aggregator page with no sourcing behind it. We repeat these labeled so you can recognize them elsewhere, never as fact.
Listed pay
$70/hr median listed rateTier 2 · Platform-publishedThe median listing's own midpoint across the 3 of 3 open roles that publish an hourly figure, with the middle half between $70 and $75/hr. This is what Ethos advertises for a role, not what anyone has been shown to earn for working it.
Effective pay
Not knownNobody has published itWhat a person clears per hour of their life after unpaid application time, unpaid training, idle time between tasks and self-employment tax. Nobody publishes it for Ethos, and we can't tell you yet either.
Getting in
Interview / vettedTier 2 · Platform-publishedEthos's own material describes the step, and the review names the page it came from. What share of applicants clear it, Ethos does not publish.
Specialty labels
Our classificationOur inferenceEthos publishes no specialty for at least some of these roles, so the labels you see on this site are our inference from role titles rather than Ethos's own taxonomy.